Keyforge Compendium is no longer being maintained, you can grab the code on Github if you want to help get it back in shape. You can find up-to-date information on Archon Arcana.. This site will shut down January 2020.

Biomatrix Backup

Archivists Upgrades Æmber Bonus
Card image for Biomatrix Backup
  • Card Text This creature gains, “Destroyed: Put this creature into its owner's archives.”
  • Type Upgrade
  • House Mars
  • Æmber 1
  • Power 0
  • Armor 0
  • Rarity Common Common
  • Artist Caravan Studio
  • Number 208
  • Set Call of the Archons
  • In Decks 151672 (11.7%)
  • ADHD A: 1.0 / B: 0.0 / C: 0.0 / E: 0.666666

Questions & Answers

Prior to the most recent errata, the word “may” in the default card text meant that a decision needed to be made regarding whether the creature was placed in its owner’s archives. Since a foundational rule of the game is that the active player makes all decisions, this wording was problematic if the creature was destroyed during the opponent’s turn . As an example, if the creature with Biomatrix Backup was destroyed during their opponent’s turn, the opponent (who would be the active player at the time) could simply decide to put the creature in its owner’s discard pile – rather than its owner’s archive – thus negating the card’s intent.

The most recent errata has changed the text to read “This creature gains, “Destroyed: Put this creature into its owner’s archives.” By removing the decision point – the word “may” – this makes it clear that the creature will always be placed in its owner’s archive, thus increasing the usefulness of the card.

If a creature has multiple “Destroyed:” abilities, the active player decides the order in which they are resolved. If Bad Penny’s ability returns it to its owner’s hand first, Biomatrix Backup can no longer archive the creature.

© 2018-2019 - keyforge-compendium.com - SAS Rating is provided by decksofkeyforge.com - contact
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.